3rd Annual Quality Improvement Project (QIP) Poster Presentation

09 May 2019
Course description

WXMERT supports the recent 3rd Annual Quality Improvement Project (QIP) Poster Presentation at  WX, by providing prizes to the worthy winners.

The QIP annual event has been successfully running since 2017.

This was set up to encourage and recognise the quality improvement work done by trainees at Whipps cross. Despite a busy work schedule, the junior doctors are well motivated to bring on change and have been an amazing driving force behind the quality improvement at Whipps cross.

This year we had 32 QI projects submitted for posters .

Dr Charlotte Hopkins our Deputy Chief medical officer, Prof James Green our Director of QI, and Dr Sujatha Thamban Director of Medical Education comprised of the judging panel.

1st Prize Winners – Dr William Flynn and Dr Eliza Lefroy.

The panel was impressed with the high calibre of work that is being done by Junior doctors.

Dr Charlotte Hopkins felt “truly inspired and humbled by the generations coming through”.

The first prize was awarded to two Foundation year doctors, Dr William Flynn and Dr Eliza Lefroy who in spite of working in the busy Emergency Department, worked on a project to improve handover [poster title: Handovers in the ED].

The second prize was awarded to Dr George Ransley and team who worked together to increase final year students’ exposure and confidence to common diagnostic signs by 10% in their 6 week placement at the hospital in their own time [poster title: Signs Circuits: Increasing Clinical Signs Exposure, and Enhancing Examination Skills Confidence].

The third prize was awarded to Dr Sam Faber and team for his work on the Tobacco & Alcohol CQUIN [poster title: The National Tobacco & Alcohol CQUIN: Improving hospital-wide compliance at Whipps Cross Hospital].

Dr Thamban thanked the Medical Education Team at Whipps Cross in bringing this together and also the Whipps Cross and Waltham Forest Medical Education and Research Trust for their generosity in awarding the prize money.





Course Leaders
Thursday 09 May 2019